Protest Procedures

Protests and Requests for Redress shall be submitted on the NSC Protest form and are due by midnight on the day following the race in question. Forms may be completed either electronically (use the MS Word version), or by hand (use the pdf version). They should then be scanned, and sent as jpg or pdf attachments to protests at nsc dot ca. You may even wish to photograph the form and send it from your, or a friend’s, smart phone. It is recommended that the diagram be completed by hand, even if pages 1 & 2 are completed using MS Word. If the submitter does not have easy access to a scanner, then the form, without the diagram, may be completed and submitted by e-mail. In that case, the submitter shall bring 3 copies of the diagram to the protest/redress hearing.

For requests for redress and scoring inquiries that arise from the posted results, the deadline will be 3 days after the results are posted to the web. For example, if results are posted Tuesday evening, requests for redress or scoring inquiries must be submitted by midnight Friday. Scoring inquiries that cannot be independently verified by the RC will be referred to a redress hearing.

When a form is received, one of the protest coordinators will contact you to arrange a time for a hearing. You should receive acknowledgement that your form was received within 48 hours; if you do not receive such acknowledgement, please contact the Protest Coordinator or Fleet Captain without delay. Normally, hearings are held one week after the incident in question, following racing on that evening, at either NSC or BYC. See this page for more information on protest coordination. Protest committees normally consist of three members, typically with at least one member from NSC and one from BYC.

Questions or comments should be sent to the protest coordinators. Also, anyone interested in learning more about protest hearings, or interested in sitting on a protest committee, is invited to contact the protest coordinators.

Elizabeth Pattey & Hugh Morrin, 2022 Protest Coordinators.

Page updated: 2022-08-06.
Latest forms: 2013-06-08.

Update log
19 Sep: HM: Page created.
15 Jun: HM: Added update log; changed 2014 to 2015.
05 Dec: HM: Added Gerry McGrath’s name.
2019: (No changes 2016-2018)
23 Jun: HM: Added Elizabeth Pattey’s name.
11 Jul: HM: Removed reference to submission of paper protest forms (changed in 2018). Removed reference to different time limit for up-river races (also changed in 2018).

2022-08-06, HM: Updated date for current protest coordinators. Updated publish date – was 2011-09-19.

NSC Protest Coordinator’s:
2019-2022…: Elizabeth Pattey & Hugh Morrin
2016-2018: Gerry McGrath & Hugh Morrin
2014-2015: David Smith & Hugh Morrin
2011-2013: Hugh Morrin
?? to 2011: Barb James

Page maintained by H. Morrin.